Bonus almonds

I worried the lady on the door at the blood donation session yesterday by not having eaten carbs that morning. Fortunately, the nurse said it was OK to donate still. It made me think about how much healthier I feel since I cut down on grains and dairy. No thinner and not cutting anything out or doing anything drastic but just more balanced and less digestive discomfort. Plus I get to do fun things like making almond milk and then making granola with the pulp.

Taking the skin off the almonds was fiddly but blending them up was fun.

I was lazy and used a sieve rather than a muslin but it worked fine.

DSC_0009_1The milk tasted fine in coffee but maybe I need a better blender as by the end of a cup there was some graininess.

To use up the pulp. I tried out this recipe with a couple of substitutions for things I don’t like (I’m really fussy with dried fruit).

Roasting / drying the almond pulp wasn’t as difficult as I thought but mixing the coconut oil and honey was surprisingly challenging.

Looked pretty much the same before and after being in the oven. Just a colour change and obviously dried out.

But it tastes pretty good and that’s for someone who’s not really a cereal person.

IMG_20170603_093100

One thought on “Bonus almonds

  1. Pingback: It’s not really carrot cake | Joyful Family Kitchen

Leave a Reply

